Letter-Writing Action 1 to End 2020

We need to reach out to our state legislators to ask them to support Maryland State Delegate Ivey’s bill (PG 410-21), which will be discussed on Wed., Dec. 30 and the deadline to submit a letter is 4 PM on Tues., Dec. 29, but until it is passed or withdrawn letters can continue to be sent (see below).  If you have not written to your legislator previously, it is pretty simple.

  • Only write to your own legislators.  If you want to find them, you can put your address in here Members – Find My Representatives (maryland.gov).  Scroll down to get your state legislators.  If you click on them, you will get their email address (or see list below).
  • Email both your Delegates (if you have 2) and your Senator.
  • Keep it short.
  • Start by saying that you support Delegate Ivey’s bill, PG 410-21 to ban new fossil fuel infrastructure (here’s the link to read it).
  • Then, put in a sentence or two about why you support the bill.  You can say anything you want.  If you have experienced harm from the existing power plants, that would be good to mention.
  • One of the things that legislators say all the time is that they remember when someone has a story.  It makes them connect to the issue.  If you have a story, that’s great, but keep it short.
  • End by saying that you would like the Delegate or Senator to COMMIT to supporting the bill.
  • Finally, put in your name and your full address, including zip code.

Here’s a list of Maryland state representatives (both Delegates and Senators):

Charles28DelegateDavis, Debradebra.davis@house.state.md.us
Charles28DelegatePatterson, Edith J.Edith.Patterson@house.state.md.us
Charles28DelegateWilson, C. T.ct.wilson@house.state.md.us
Charles28SenatorEllis, Arthurarthur.ellis@senate.state.md.us
Calvert27ADelegateProctor, Susiesusie.proctor@house.state.md.us
Calvert and Prince George’s27BDelegateJackson, Michael A. Michael.Jackson@house.state.md.us
Charles and Prince George’s27CDelegateFisher, Mark N.mark.fisher@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s25DelegateBarnes, Darryl Darryl.Barnes@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s25DelegateCharles, Nicknick.charles@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s25DelegateDavis, Dereck E.dereck.davis@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s25SenatorGriffith, Melonymelony.griffith@senate.state.md.us
Prince George’s26DelegateTurner, Veronicaveronica.turner@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s26DelegateValderrama, Kriselda kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s26DelegateWalker, Jay jay.walker@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s26SenatorPatterson, Obieobie.patterson@senate.state.md.us
Prince George’s23ADelegate Valentino-Smith, Geraldine   geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s23BDelegate Holmes, Marvin E., Jr.   marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s23BDelegate Watson, Ron courtney.watson@house.state.md.us
Prince George’s23Senator  Peters, Douglas J.   douglas.peters@senate.state.md.us

NOTE: Senator Mike Miller, District 27 recently resigned due to poor health. Write to Delegate Susie Proctor if you’re in district 27 A where the Mattawoman Energy power plant is planned to be built.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *